2022 Election Results

At its annual meeting on December 6, the CAVC Historical Society announced the results of its 2022 Officer and Trustee elections. The Society also voted to amend its bylaws to create a new lifetime membership category.

The Society’s Officers, serving two-year terms through 2024, are:

  • President: Diane Boyd Rauber, National Organization of Veterans’ Advocates
  • Vice President: Stacy Tromble, National Veterans Legal Services Program
  • Secretary: Lauren Barefoot, U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
  • Treasurer: David Ames, Bergmann & Moore, LLC

Beginning three-year terms as Trustees are:

  • Glenn Bergmann, Bergmann & Moore, LLC
  • Jonathan Gaffney, legislative branch employee
  • David Myers, National Association of County Veterans Service Officers
  • Renee Reasoner, U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
  • Jennifer Zajac, Paralyzed Veterans of America

Congratulations to the new Officers and Trustees, and thank you to our outgoing officers and trustees for their service!

Buy the CAVC History Book

Now available: Justice and the American Veteran: A History of the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, by Rory Riley Topping and Diane Boyd Rauber.

Copies are available for $26.50 each, including tax and shipping; please visit the Buy the Book page for more information.

Conversation with the Chief Judges of the Second Generation of the Court

On October 21, 2021, the CAVC Historical Society and CAVC Bar Association hosted a panel discussion featuring three Chief Judges from the second generation of the Court, Senior Judges William P. Greene, Jr., Lawrence B. Hagel, and Robert N. Davis. 

Moderated by current Judge Michael P. Allen, the panel discussed challenges and triumphs as the Court grew, the continued evolution of the institution, and their thoughts about the Court’s history.

CAVC History From The Perspective Of Its Clerks of Court

On February 25, 2021, the CAVC Historical Society and CAVC Bar Association hosted a panel discussion featuring the first three Clerks of the Court, Melanie Dorsey, Robert Comeau, and Norman Herring. Moderated by the fourth and current Clerk, Gregory Block, the panel discussed challenges faced in the early days of the Court, the evolution of the position from the days of paper to electronic filing, and share their thoughts about the Court’s history. 

2020 Officer Elections

The CAVC Historical Society is excited to announce its new Officers for the 2020 to 2022 term:

Brad Hennings, President
Diane Boyd Rauber, Vice President
Lauren Barefoot, Secretary
David Ames Treasurer

Thanks to our outgoing President, Jon Gaffney, and Treasurer, Chris Wysokinski, for their service to the Historical Society.

Congratulations to the new Officers, and we’re looking forward to new programs and events in the coming year!

2019 Trustee Election Results

At our Annual Meeting on May 29, the Historical Society announced the results of our 2019 Trustee Elections. The following individuals have been elected to three-year terms on the Society’s Board of Trustees:

  • Linda Blauhut (returning for a second term)
  • Glenda Herl (returning for a second term)
  • David Myers (returning for a second term)
  • Diane Rauber
  • Charles Teague (returning for a second term)

Ken Carpenter finished his three-year term as a trustee and did not run for re-election.

In addition, our treasurer, Mohammad Shouman, resigned from his position effective May 21, 2019. The Board of Trustees selected Chris Wysokinski, a law clerk at the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, to fill that position.

Congratulations to our new trustees and treasurer, and thank you to Ken and Mohammad for your service to the Historical Society!

2018 Election Results

The 2018 – 2020 officers of the Historical Society are:

Jonathan Gaffney, President
Bradley Hennings, Vice President
Anna Whited, Secretary
Mohammad Shouman, Treasurer

Thanks to Elizabeth Pesin for her service as Treasurer from 2016 to 2018!